Many will drive pass the Old Bluecoat School on the A4 with little knowledge of the rich history held within. The building was completed by c.1304 as St Thomas’ Chapel.
Services were held within the building until c.1550 when it appears to have been abandoned.
That is until in 1707 Lady Frances Winchcombe purchased the chapel and land. This she gave to trustees with instruction to turn it into a schoolhouse for the education of thirty poor boys born, or to be born, or whose parents should live in the parishes of Bucklebury, Thatcham, and Little Shefford.
This new charity school became known as the Bluecoat School for the simple reason the uniforms the boys wore were blue.
The school operated until 1914 when the last schoolmaster, Samuel Vallis, left for war. The school closed and never opened as an independent school again. It was used as an extra classroom by some of the local schools including Kennet. It was later turned into an antiques shop and recently given back to a charity to run for the community.
To find out more contact us via email enquiries@ thatchamhistoricalsociety.org. uk or visit our website www. thatchamhistoricalsociety.org.uk